Why is there an "authorization" charge on my statement?

For some orders (especially first-time orders), we may place a temporary authorization charge called "BC NO CHARGE PREAUTH" on your card when it is added to your account and/or when you place your order. This charge is automatically and immediately refunded, but may remain visible as an 'authorization charge' for some customers for a few business days. Authorization charges are never held for longer than a few seconds.